What’s in my make-up bag March 2017?

Hello everybody!

Today on this beautifully sunny day, I thought I would share with you the contents of my current make up bag. This is a type of blog post that I love to read (maybe I’m just really nosey?) but that was my inspiration for creating this post myself! I tend to wear pretty much the same make up look every day; the only few things that I change are the colour of my lipstick and eye shadows. My current selection of products contains a mixture of higher end brands, brands that are available from ‘drug stores’ and some are really good dupes that I have found for expensive products. Before I get into the actual make up I’ll show you my current make up bag and then take you through the products in the order that I use them every day. Here goes and I hope you enjoy:

wp-1489593146977.jpg

I am currently using a cosmetic bag from Ted Baker and I have been using this for about a year now. I love the pink/purple floral print and the fact that it is structured. It is not big enough if you like to keep all of your make up in one place but it fits my daily make up essentials in it perfectly and I have another smaller bag for any spares, refills, etc.

wp-1489593161383.jpg

The first thing I do after cleansing but before I begin application is to tie my hair back and clip back any stray hairs out of my face – foundation in my hair is not a good look! I then like to apply a simple lip balm to moisturise and soften my lips. At the moment I’m loving Boots essentials strawberry lip salve.

wp-1489593188861.jpg

After moisturising my lips, I apply a primer just to my T-zone area where my pores are slightly more noticeable. At the moment my favourite is the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant pore eraser as it is so light weight and sinks right into my skin. Another primer that I really like is the All-in-one InstaBlur primer from The Body Shop, but this is a bit thicker and feels slightly heavier on the skin. I would be more likely to use this on an evening out or to an occasion where I’m likely to wear heavier make up.

wp-1489593197168.jpg

For as long as I can remember I have used foundation from The Body Shop. I use their Moisture foundation SPF 15 in the shade 05. As you can see from the image below I need to buy some more soon! I have been through about five bottles of this stuff. I would say it gives medium coverage but it’s so easy to build up layers, particularly with a brush like the medium PS Pro flat brush from Primark. The Body Shop have since brought out a new foundation range that I want to try, but once I find a shade that matches my skin so well I like to stick with that product for a long time. I think I’ll have pop into store soon and get matched up to their new range! I cannot fault this foundation!

wp-1489593240924.jpg

As well as foundation, I use a concealer just under my eyes and over any blemishes which may need a bit of extra coverage. I purchased this Yves Saint Laurent on EBay for a massive discount so I was expecting a fake/dupe but I genuinely think this is the real thing – if it’s a fake then I don’t mind because it does a great job! This is the YSL Touche éclat radiant touch concealer in shade 2.5 and I would definitely recommend this. It rarely creases and is very long lasting. It has an applicator on it and I use a Primark ‘beauty blender’ to blend it in nicely – I know it needs a wash, please don’t judge me, Ha-ha.

wp-1489593250814.jpg

wp-1489593261216.jpg

After applying my foundation and concealer, I like to set it all and remove just a little bit of the dewiness by using a powder. I used to use the All-in-one Face Base from The Body Shop in shade 04 but this was quite expensive for just a powder, so about a month ago I decided to swap for a more affordable brand. I have recently been using the Maybelline Matte Maker mattifying powder in shade 20 nude beige. I know a lot of people like a fresh, dewy, glowing make up look, but I prefer more of a matte finish so this is perfect! I think it is just as good as the Body Shop option for about a quarter of the price. To apply this I use one of the brushes from my De’Lanci rose gold brush set (see my whole other blog post on this).

wp-1489593269799.jpg

Once all my base make up is finished I like to move straight onto my eyebrows. In order to do this, I use my slanted De’Lanci brush and The Body Shop’s Brow and Liner kit in the shade 02. This contains two shades which I tend to use a mixture of, unless I want a harsher look where I’ll just use the darker shade. This little compact is small enough to fit in my make up bag but it even has a handy little mirror inside. I bet you’re starting to think I should take out shares in The Body Shop! I really like all of their products and also the business itself because of their mantra to ‘Enrich not Exploit’. All of their products are sourced ethically and sustainably which is something I feel very passionate about, particularly within the beauty and cosmetics industry. My blush is also from The Body Shop but I promise after this you will hear about some other brands! Ha-ha.

wp-1489593297336.jpg

My blush is the All-in-one cheek colour from The Body Shop in the shade 01 Macaroon. This is just the right combination of matte and shimmer and I love the peachy colour! I actually apply this with my De’Lanci contour brush as opposed to a blusher brush because I prefer the way it goes on.

wp-1489593307419.jpg

Now onto some other brands! I move onto my eye shadow next and for this I use an Easy On The Eye palette from Seventeen called Birthday Suit. It holds all my favourite neutral colours that I love to wear everyday. I think the only colour that I have barely used is the darkest one on the bottom row, which is called Baked Chestnut, as this is a bit too harsh for my normal look. My favourite daily colour is a combination of the 2 shades in the second column. These are Sun kissed peach and Radiant gold. The last four shades in the palette are crème eye shadows which I also use and recently I’ve taken to using the top right corner one as a highlighter on my cheek bones. This is the shade Pink flush. This palette originally came with a decent brush but I lost it, so I now use either my De’Lanci eye shadow brush or my finger for the crème shades. Such a beautiful collection of colours!

wp-1489593316953.jpg

Iwp-1489593325489.jpg

In terms of eyeliners I have two that I interchange regularly. The first is the black liquid eyeliner from Anastasia Beverly Hills that I think every beauty blogger is using or has written about. I recently discovered a cheaper alternative from Avon of all places. This is the Avon True Colour Glimmerstick Liquid Eyeliner Pen in black. I have only recently started using eyeliner on a daily basis so I prefer to stick to the felt tip pen style ones. I am not yet brave enough to use the gel or fibre ones. Maybe one day!

wp-1489593336069.jpg

So after my eyeliner has dried it’s time for mascara, and this is a bit of a funny one. I use what I believe is a dupe of the Benefit Roller Lash Mascara that people have been raving about! I purchased this again from EBay and just by looking at the tube you can tell it is fake. The writing on the packaging has all rubbed off after only using for a few weeks and doesn’t look so great now! But I can honestly say that fake or not, this is an amazing mascara! With most mascaras I find myself using so many coats just to get the look I want, whereas one or two coats of this is more than enough! I wish I could afford the official Benefit mascara but I really don’t see how it can do a better job than this.

wp-1489593345050.jpg

Finally, we have made it to the last stage which is lipstick. Again this often changes on a day to day basis but the one I have been using most recently is from Primark. It permanently lives in my handbag and it is the PS Lipstick in the shade 01 Desert Sand. This isn’t a very long lasting lipstick but for the price of about 90p that is only to be expected. I usually top this up throughout the day or swap for a simple lip balm for the rest of the day. I naturally have quite pink/pigmented lips anyway so I rarely worry about my lipstick fading. As you can however, the writing has faded on this too as I use it so often! I will soon be a writing another post about my favourite lipsticks, including shades for all different occasions, so keep an eye out for that!

20170315_164827.jpg

And that is my make up finished! This is what the bottom of my make up bag looks like. It just contains a few other essentials that rarely come out to be honest. It’s always handy to have a small mirror, cotton buds for inevitable mascara smudges and hair grips for on-the-move application. The number of times I’ve done my makeup on the train is ridiculous!

wp-1489593357588.jpg

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed and please leave a like or follow my blog for more beauty and fashion posts every Wednesday and Sunday!

Have an amazing day! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Me On Focus says:

    Touché Eclat… the best thing ever!!! I love your post. Come check my blog if you like Hun 🍀😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

