Primark! Make-up brushes and beauty blenders

Hello everybody!

Today I am going to share with you my experiences with the highly affordable make-up tools offered by Primark; some as their ‘PS Pro…’ range. Since the hype of the Beauty Blender began, I started searching for cheaper alternative and certainly from my own experience, the Primark version has been unbeatable.

blender1

In their PS beauty range, you can buy two beauty sponges for just £1.50! Now, simply by looking at these in the packet it is easy to tell that these are pretty realistic dupes of the original ‘beauty blender’ make-up sponges that can cost you anything from £15 upwards… FOR A SPONGE! These work out at £75p each but I think Primark also offer a PS Pro version which is slightly pricier and comes with a handle. I used these sponges for months to apply my foundation and found them to be very effective and blended the product nicely. I also found that I just needed to give them a quick rinse about once a week to keep hem looking and feeling fresh. To be honest, I only stopped using these because I discovered the brushes that Primark had to offer (see below).

blender2.jpg

Personally, I have never tried the ‘original’ beauty blender (just because I don’t want to spend that amount of money and I like to replace my sponges and brushes quite frequently); however, other beauty bloggers have said that the Primark versions are firmer and not as soft on your face as the more expensive ones. This is only to be expected as ‘you get what you pay for’, but I have never had any problems with them and they seemed to blend my foundation very well.

A beauty tool from Primark that has got far more attention from beauty enthusiasts everywhere are their ‘flat blending brushes’. These are very cheap, affordable dupes of the famous ‘Artiste’ make-up brushes. See the comparison below; the top two images are the Artiste brushes and the bottom two are Primark:

The Primark version come in just three sizes at the moment; small £2.50, Medium £3 and Large £4. I have the medium size which I have been using everyday to apply my foundation, and more recently to blend in my concealer. I apply one or two pumps of foundation directly onto my skin and use the flat brush to blend the product in. The correct way to use these brushes to full effect is to blend without taking the brush off of the skin; like using one continuous stroke, as opposed to using dabbing or patting motions.

brush3

I have been using the medium sized brush for a long while now and I don’t see myself swapping anytime soon. I used to use more expensive brushes from The Body Shop at about £15 each but I find these PS Pro alternatives to be just as effective at a fraction of the price. The best thing about this brush is that it doesn’t seem to collect or waste as much product as sponges or beauty blenders do – A definite pet peeve among people who use a more expensive brand of foundation! The smaller brush can be used to blend eye shadow powders which is something that I am yet to try as I wear a lot of nude and neutral colours… but do let me know if you try them out and how you get on with them!

I hope you enjoyed this post and have a lovey day! 🙂

PS: Don’t forget to like/follow so you don’t miss out on my future posts!

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ahh I want those brushes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

