Johanna Basford: Adult colouring

Hello everybody,

The adult colouring trend started by Johanna Basford has been around for a little while now, and has been forgotten by many.. but not by me! I own four of Johanna’s books and have 3 of them on the go at the same time. I like to have one at uni, one at home and one at my fiancé’s house. I find that among the horrible stresses of everyday life, colouring provides me with a form of escape. I like to multitask and watch TV or Netflix while I colour too.. as long as it isn’t the sort of show that needs my full attention. I swap between pens and pencils for different pictures and I use the Staedtler ranges. My favourite book at the moment is the Secret Garden, however I have tried books from other retailers. My fiancé has the Harry Potter adult colouring book which I love the designs in but I have not found another book with as great quality paper as in Johanna’s books. Here are some pictures of other people’s colouring that I found on the internet;

Image result for johanna basford

Related image

Related image

Related image

Related image

I love seeing how other people have interpreted the designs and chosen colours differently to how I have. If you search ‘Johanna Basford’ on Instagram, you will be amazed at the talent of some people. On my own Instagram @justlittlelaura, I regularly upload photos of my own colouring, but I’m definitely not as good (or patient) as some people out there. They are beautiful to look at and I feel provide a sense of wellbeing, mindfulness and calm into my life.

I hope you have enjoyed reading and let me know if you still use these books too! Or let me know what else you do instead when you have time to yourself and want to relax. Also don’t forget to look out for my review of my Balayage hair dye which is happening tomorrow!!

Happy colouring! Have a fantastic day 🙂

K. x

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Absolutely love the last two! So many beautiful colours and they look great all together

    Like

Leave a Reply

