Winter Morning Shower Routine

Hello everybody,

A number of my favourite bloggers and vloggers have written or talked through their shower routines for either the morning or evening. Its such a random thing to tell people about but I find myself reading so many… Maybe I’m just really nosey! Anyway I have decided to talk through my own morning shower routine and tell you about the products that I currently use. I tend to shower every other morning during winter and usually everyday in the warmer summer months. I also try to change between products and brands in order to avoid a product build up in my hair over a long period of time. So, without further ado, here goes… Enjoy!

Step 1: Shampooing and Conditioning:

shampoo1.png

I like to shampoo my hair almost immediately when I get in the shower. I think this is because I have an irrational fear of the hot water running out either before I’ve washed it, or halfway through the process, leaving me with a mess of soap suds! Not cool. I swap between a few different shampoos but I stick to those designed to increase volume and to give my hair body. As I have naturally super-straight hair, I rarely use any heated tools meaning that my hair is in really good condition. This is a great thing but it means that my hair is often very flat and lifeless. These shampoos really help! I am currently using the Volume and Body shampoo and conditioner from Pantene Pro-V; although my favourite would probably be the Aussome Volume range from Aussie (Bit pricey for regular use though). I condition my hair straight afterwards and put it up in a bun to allow the conditioner to soak in for a couple of minutes while I move on to Step 2.

Step 2: Body Wash/Body Scrub:

bodywash1.png

I tend to alternate between using a body wash and an exfoliating body scrub. At the moment I am using the Boots Extract Brazil Nut Body Scrub because it smells heavenly and reminds me of summer. It is also lovely and moisturising and never fails to wake me up in the morning. I almost wish I could eat it! I use this whist the conditioner is soaking into my hair and once I am finished, I rinse it out. Alternatively, I would use any body wash with a nice uplifting fragrance, like the ones from body sets I get given for Christmas.

Step 3: Shave:

shave1.png

I then take the opportunity to shave my legs, underarms, etc., and I stick to cheaper disposable razors that I change very few weeks or when they start to look a bit worse for wear. I always shave in the opposite direction to how the hair grows in order to get a cleaner shave.. although be careful and gentle to avoid nicking or cutting yourself in the process. I am currently using this shaving gel which I chose solely for the cute packaging and picked up from my local boots store. I have to admit that if I’m really in a rush then I sometimes shave without the gel but this can dry your skin out and leave it irritated (Naughty me!).

Step 4: Face Wash/Exfoliation:

facewash1.png

Finally, before I get out of the shower I wash my face as my pores have had time to open up in the warmth. If I’m having a sensitive skin day then I’ll use this Nivea Sensitive Cleansing Milk, massage it into my skin for about a minute and then rinse off with a soft flannel. If I need something a bit more powerful then I have just switched to using the new Biore Baking Soda Pore Cleanser which I know loads of people have been raving about. I have only been using this for about 3 weeks but so far, I really like it! I won’t say too much because I will be writing a full review of this product very soon, however all I will say is… Would recommend!!

Step 5: Leave the shower and moisturise:

bodybutter1.png

I leave the shower, towel dry myself and put my dressing gown straight on. I then put my hair up in the towel and use a moisturising body butter on my knees and my elbows as I feel they get a bit dryer that the rest of my skin. It is so beneficial to moisturise before leaving the bathroom as you can lock in extra moisture from the steamy shower, which is wasted once you open the door and leave the room. At the moment I am using the Boots Extracts Cranberry Body Butter although I like to change up the scents every now and again.

Once I leave the bathroom, I get dressed and begin my everyday skincare and make-up routine. I will be writing about my everyday make-up routine and the products that I use in a future blog very soon; so make sure to follow my blog if you don’t want to miss that. Also check out my Skincare Essentials January 2017 post for my favourite cleanser and facial moisturiser.

Hope you enjoyed reading today! Have a fabulous day 🙂

K. x

 

Leave a Reply

