Fashion favourites: January 2017

Hello everybody,

Bit of an earlier post this morning! I thought I’d get straight in there with a very exciting post about my favourite fashion pieces and trends of the beginning of the new year. I will be posting two new ‘favourites’ blogs each month; one for skincare and beauty, and one for fashion and clothing. Look out for those! Now, lets dive straight in:

boots1.PNG

Black Suedette Embroidered Block Heel Boots – New Look – £34.99.
These are gorgeous and such a statement piece. I purchased some very similar embroidered bots from Miss Selfridge in the January Sales which I think unfortunately have sold out completely! You can find pictures of them on my Instagram page @justlittlelaura
I have got so much wear out of my embroidered boots and I can see myself continuing to wear them all throughout the spring season. Great with skinny black jeans or teamed with black tights and a minidress or skirt for more of an evening look!
shorts1.PNG

 

Wine Paper Bag Shorts – Miss Selfridge – £30.00

Gorgeous with a crisp blouse and a pair of strappy heels, these paper bag style shorts are very flattering for all figures. I’m  a huge fan of the high waist and the tie ribbon detail adds an elegant touch to the look. These would also look great teamed with the embroidered boots shown previously for a real statement look. Perfect for a sophisticated look on a night out! Miss Selfridge also offer a 10% student discount to all you fellow poor students out there. I feel you!

pinny-1

Black Zip Pinny Dress – Miss Selfridge – £42.00

Okay, so I love this, but I realise the price tag is slightly steep. Ordinarily I would probably look at the price and sadly walk away, but I feel that this would be such a wearable piece. In the new year, I have vowed to stop wasting money on cheap trendy items that are poor quality and will go out of fashion super fast! Instead I want to save my money for pieces that I will really get the wear out of in order to warrant spending that little bit of extra dollar. This I feel is one of those pieces! Black is timeless and I think the style is quirky but also cute and feminine.

jacket1.PNG

Mid blue sheepskin trim denim jacket – River Island – £55.00.

Denim sheepskin jackets have been on trend for a little while now, however I also don’t see them going anywhere anytime soon. I find them so versatile as blue denim is timeless as it literally goes with anything.. and most importantly it’s practical! For those weird spring/summer days where you don’t need a big, puffy coat, but you need more than a jumper – this would be perfect! Personally, I have a few coats to choose from but I don’t have many ‘jackets’, or more lightweight alternatives for the kind of whether which I’m sure is on it’s way. I also think the price is justified as it is something I would wear very often. It all depends how much use you will get out of the garment, as to how much you should be prepared to spend. I will definitely be investing in this on payday before they all sell out!

skinnies 1.PNG

Lipsy Coated Skinny Jeans – Lipsy@Next – £38.

Woah Mumma! These skinny jeans are pure goals! I think £38 is a reasonable price considering the brand and the EXTORTIONATE price of women’s jeans nowadays! I usually buy most of my jeans from Topshop for about £40 a pair (Long legs aren’t always a blessing) and so I don’t find the price to be too high. I had some black coated jeans from MOTO@Topshop a couple of years ago which I wore literally every day until one day I accidentally put them in the tumble drier with the rest of my washing and they shrunk and had to be thrown away – RIP. So anyway, I  miss them terribly and I will definitely get my money’s worth with these badboys! Great teamed with a cable knit jumper and a pair of chunky boots for this wintery time of year; or paired with strappy metallic heels and a statement crop top (perhaps crushed velvet) for an eye-catching party look. But please don’t tumble dry them!

That sums up my Fashion Favourites for January 2017! I hope you have enjoyed reading and I’d love to hear your thoughts! Have a beautiful day 🙂

K. x

 

 

Leave a Reply

